top of page

Dox Docherty Unplugged

Updated: Apr 20, 2019

I thought I could hang it up...........but I can't!!!


Dox & Andy @ Think Tank Newcastle

Sometime last year I decided that it would be best to stop doing acoustic shows. This was for 2 reasons.


The first reason was simply time!! Lords of Ruin was taking up so much of my time, that I was finding hard to rehearse. There were a few shows where I didn't rehearse at all, or maybe only had a quick run through before a show. I am someone who likes to be pepared, so when this happened a few times, I decided that it would be best to knock it on the head and throw all of my energy into Lords of Ruin.


The second reason was my confidence. I am not a confident person! I have always liked being in bands because it makes me feel like I've got support while i'm up there. Not every eye is on me, and waiting to see what mistakes I make. I would always panic before solo gigs, because I have this everlasting fear that people won't like my songs.



Recently I have been in contact with old friend, & ex Rusted Hero Bassist, Andy Milburn. After the disbanding of his band Blackjack, he was looking for something to keep his face in the game whilst looking for a new band to join/start. I thought it would be perfect to have a little bass backing to my songs, so asked Andy if he would like to play for me at my acoustic shows. I had already managed to secure our first show @ Trillians Newcastle, supporting the mighty Mike Tramp (White Lion), so we got into rehearsals right away. Andy is a hard working musician and picked the tunes up right away.


We now plan to get as many gigs as we can. We will be updating the set with new songs as fast as I write them.


I would like to thank everyone who has told me how much they enjoyed, & missed my solo shows. I was on the fence about starting it up again, but the support you guys have shown me has been outstanding. You have given me a new love for playing guitar, and writing different songs to what I would usually write.


See you at a show soon


Dox Docherty






12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page